Solved

Migrating my changes from an environment A to environment B

• 12 August 2020
  • 6 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +9

Hi,

I am new in IFS system and I have huge implementations that involves many windows. Is there an option to export/import to migrate between many environments?

Somebody that works with me told me that I need to replicate manually all my changes in each environment. It’s hard to believe, so anybody can help me?

icon

Best answer by Garak 13 August 2020, 03:06

View original

6 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +24

hi Gianni,

which version of IFS are you using?

Generally - in IFS EE - you can highlight records, Right-click - Edit - copy object, then go to another environment (same screen), RMB - Edit - Paste object.

This works well for basic data.

There is also a magic spreadsheet washing around that does much the same thing, but allows you to edit the data in Excel in between extracting it and loading it.

Userlevel 5
Badge +9

You may want to also look at Application Configuration Packages. You can add configurations e.g. custom fields etc. to an Application Configuration Package, export that from say the Test enviro and import into Prod. This is how we generally do things - we develop in Test, add to an app config package and then export that to the Prod environment.

It also helps provide an additional layer of documentation in IFS about what configurations have been applied to your environment.

Userlevel 7
Badge +24

hi @gianni.neves 

are you asking with regard to regular IFS data, or configuration items e.g. custom fields?

Userlevel 4
Badge +9

Hi @paul harland ,

I am working at version 9 and configuration items like, EXTERNAL FILE TEMPLATE, DATABASE TASK SCHEDULES.

Thanks,

Userlevel 7
Badge +24

@gianni.neves 

Database task schedule - we recommend creating these manually.  There’s no export/import function, although it’s probably possible if you use the migration tool (write them out to a file and then import them).