Skip to main content
Solved

Authorization Combination Rule ID?

• 18 July 2024
  • 2 replies

I am new to Authorizations in IFS and I am trying to understand exactly how it chooses what rules to apply when routing for approval.  I see that the first step is to add the user to Invoice Posting Authorizers and a Group if needed.  I see that you can assign a Max amount on the Authorizer, but I also see a Authorization Combination Rule that can also be applied.  Which one is used?  I also see that you can apply a Group or User to a Authorization Assigning Rule that you can also assign rules and dollar amounts to the rule.  I don’t understand what each does.

1. Max amount on Posting Authorizers.
  2. Authorization Combination Rule ID
  3. Authorizer Assigning Rules

Would love to understand this better so I can setup my company to follow our DOA.  

Thanks in advance.

Bob

2 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +18

Hi, 

First off - I’ll comment on a few topics / areas you ask, then I’ll try and put it all together in a meaningful way. 

The combination ID is essentially what is allowed to be authorized and the limits.   Assume a site manager is a combination ID.  You then assign what code strings (rent, utilities, expenses etc) and amounts that this combination can authorize. This does not imply who is selected to authorize a posting line, just the limits. 

Then we have the authorization routing rule. This function identifies the authorization steps - and the invoice posting authorizers for each step. Remember if you have three steps or sequences, then those three (or a member of a group) are assigned. One step, one person or one group is assigned.