Question

Adding a new cash account

• 30 November 2020
  • 4 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +2

Hi,

I am new to IFS, my company uses a very old version of IFS...7.5

We are changing banks and I need to add a new GL account and set it up to be able to post supplier payments out of both of our bank accounts, the new and the old.

I have searched everywhere that I can think of but I cannot find instructions to do this. I think I have figured out how to add the GL account to the chart of accounts, I have set up a Cash Account and a payment method, I have added a posting control to to hit the correct GL account for the new Cash Account, and I added the Payment institute.

I am able to Create the payment proposal, and then the payment order, but when I create the check payment the “OK” is grayed out so I cannot select it…

I also tried to do a mixed payment using the new account and got an error that I could not use this account in manual postings. Obviously I set something else up wrong.

Any suggestions would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,

Deb

This topic has been closed for comments

4 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +28

After you setup the Payment Institute, did you RMB and setup the Payment Methods per Institute?

First thing I can think of checking…. as it is easily overlooked.

Userlevel 6
Badge +11

Hi Debbie,

It seems that check number is missing. Please go to Payment Documents basic data window and select supplier check payment. Make sure you have correctly connected your cash account to your check series. I assume you are using automatic check number series.

You might already know that you cannot issue a supplier check via a mixed payment.(only customer check payment can be recorded). You were referring to an error in mixed payment. This is a sub ledger clearing and there can't be any involvement of manual posting. I am bit confused about the error you are referring.

Best Regards 

Eranda

Userlevel 2
Badge +2

Thank you both very much.