Question

Access Information Sources

• 18 December 2019
  • 6 replies

Badge +2

Hi all,

We recently implemented IFS Apps 10 beginning of december for our first business unit. I was - together with a collegae - responsible for data migration. As a data warehouse builder I am wondering how we can access the data for other purposes, like reporting.

On premise we have a SQL server BI stack. Is it possible for me to access data from the Information Sources? Or is this only possible from the Enterprise Explorer and/or the EOI?

Kind regards, Jeroen

6 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +18

Hi @Phan479,

Welcome to the IFS Community!

You can integrate IFS Application with external business processes, application and devices using IFS Connect. IFS Connect is an integration broker, designed for XML and web services. You can read all about it in the Foundation1 Documentation by pressing F1 on any screen of the IFS Application.

Hope this is what you’re looking for!

Userlevel 7
Badge +20

Hi @Phan479 ,

You can use Information access layer(IAL) objects for this purpose. As documented in the IAL

Every application contains a lot of useful data. However it is typically hard for user, report developers, and decision-makers to extract useful information directly from this application data. Typically the main problem is that the application data contains to many objects or with to fine-grained detail, forcing the information seeker to find and combine lots of data sources in order to get any useful information.

The purpose of the Information Access Layer (IAL) is to make the information in the application easier to find and use by defining a number of IAL objects that expose information (not application data) in the application in a neat and tidy way.

I have attached the documentation regarding IAL for your convenience. 

Thanks,

Kasun

Userlevel 4
Badge +8

Hi @Phan479,